Calls for Submission: Student Editorial Projects

In partnership with a local community college, The Gateway Review and Gateway Literary Press are sharing the following calls for submission from students enrolled in a course on publishing. These anthologies will come with no pay, but all contributors selected by the student editors will receive a free contributor copy of the final product. Please contact each individual editor at the emails listed with questions!

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS: REVERIE

            A “reverie” is a daydream, a fanciful idea within one’s mind. And that is exactly what the anthology Reverie is all about—a collection of short stories about the fantastical and superhuman. Works submitted to Reverie should avoid the genres of realism, nonfiction, and poetry.  We invite submissions of fantasy, superhero fiction, and science fiction that does not get too technical. Non-explicit violence is allowed in short stories and art for this anthology (avoid large amounts of unnecessary gore), however anything else that falls under the mature spectrum or includes racism or homophobia will not be considered.

            Short stories should be at least 500 words minimum with a maximum of 5000 words of single spaced, 12-point Times New Roman font in .docx or .doc file format. Artwork in the fantasy and superhero genre may be sent in as PNG files, but know that in the final product the art will be converted to grayscale to save costs on printing. You may send your submissions to ab250581@my.stchas.edu. For those whose submissions are accepted, you will receive a physical copy of Reverie to keep. Simultaneous submissions are allowed, but I ask for first North American serial rights on any story or art sent in.

            Submissions will close on April 25, 2021.

            I look forward to seeing everyone’s work, and hope you all enjoy being a part of this creative project!

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS: The Supernatural and Unexplained

Word count: 1,000-2,500 words

Submission Fee: None

Payment and Rights: First-Time Print rights, one free contributor copy

Submission Guidelines: Double spaced pages, numbered, Garamond font, font size 12, margins 1 inch on all sides, Microsoft Word Document. Simultaneous submissions are permitted.

Deadline: April 25th, 2021

What We’re Looking For:

  • Nonfiction
  • Narrative
  • Journalism

The definition of supernatural is loose for this call. It can include ghost stories (phantom creatures), or unusual events, or a phenomenon. Even modern cases of extra-terrestrials and unidentified crafts are included. Any of these are accepted, though we do ask for firsthand, secondhand, to thirdhand experiences. We want these stories to be extracted from real life experiences with the unexplained, and possible horror. Though we suggest these accounts to be frightening, the extraordinary is always entirely welcomed.

We welcome stories from around the globe, from different cultures, from different backgrounds.

Reference/description art is welcomed. It can be sent as either as a PDF file or PNG file, and attached to your submission. Grayscale is suggested, otherwise it will be converted accordingly.

What We’re Not Looking For:

  • Poetry
  • Fantasy
  • Fiction

Contact Info:

You may submit your piece/pieces at kb237503@my.stchas.edu. Feel free to send any questions concerning the following guidelines.

Call for Submissions: Wayward Fables: Myths and Folktales Retold

We are looking for fiction, poetry, and artwork that present retellings or twists on all varieties of myths and folktales. What if Little Red Riding Hood was the villain? Could Rumplestiltskin be written as a science fiction story? What if Cinderella was set in Egypt?

Preference will be given to retellings that explore genres or settings (location, time period, etc.) that differ from those of the original stories. We are not interested in pieces that are romance-heavy unless there are other elements that are just as important.

Deadline: April 20, 2021

Writing Guidelines:

  • Fiction and poetry are both accepted
  • No minimum length
  • Max length for fiction is 7,500 words (small graces may be given)
  • Max length for poetry is 100 lines or 1,000 words (small graces may be given)
  • An easily readable typeface is preferred
  • Fiction should be double-spaced
  • Must be submitted in a .doc or .docx file format
  • Include a brief description of the original myth or folktale with your piece

Artwork Guidelines:

  • Must be in grayscale
  • May accompany your piece of writing or can be stand-alone
  • Must be submitted as a PNG file
  • Include a brief description of the original myth or folktale with your piece

More Submission Info:

  • No submission fee
  • Simultaneous submissions are permitted
  • Up to 1 submission per category is permitted
  • We ask for One-Time Rights (previously published work is accepted)
  • Decisions will be made within a month after the deadline

Compensation:

Accepted contributors will be compensated with a copy of the published anthology.

Contact:

You may submit your work to jg233717@my.stchas.edu with the subject line “Anthology Submission.” If you have any questions, please reach out to the same email with the subject line “Anthology Inquiry.”

Submission Call: Romance

What are we are looking for?

Romance is the one of the roots that connects us to other people and the magic of life. The ability to connect to the inner workings of a person and embrace it is what this genre is all about. I am reaching out to find people wanting to submit romance poetry or short stories this can include: The Progression of Love, Breakups, New Love, Young Love, LGBT+ content of any sort, anything with the main plot being focused on a romantic relationship. The writers who get picked will receive a copy of the book.

Requirements:

  • Nothing over 3,000 words
  • No Endorsement of Homophobia or Racism
  • No outwardly or overly explicit content
  • Black and white art in your collection is accepted for print.
  • Main plot must involve a romantic relationship.
  • First time serial rights

Formatting:

  • 3,000 words or less
  • Times New Roman Font 12pt.
  • Double Spacing

Contact:

mmwritingsubmissions@gmail.com

Questions are welcomed and will be responded to within 24 hours.

*No Submission Fee

Start for Submissions: March 29th

Deadline for Submissions: April 25th

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS: MAGICAL

Fiction is wonderful. It provides a solid escape to those who’ve grown tired of the disaster known as reality. However, one aspect of it has always captivated many within our world is magic. The ability to do things we can’t such as breath underwater, control fire, or even speak to animals, each one as magical as the last and things that draw a reader in just on the wonder of it all. That is what this collection, Magical, will contain: stories of magic. These can be high fantasy to urban fantasy and while artwork isn’t required, you can submit stories with art. Please avoid excessive gore and explicit themes. Stories with racism and homophobia will not be accepted.

Stories should be a minimum of 1 page, with a maximum of 4 pages of 1 1/2 spaced, size 14 Times New Roman font in doc format. Artwork should be of the fantasy variety and should avoid gore and explicit themes. The artwork will likely be turned black and white to save on the printing cost so be aware of that. The deadline is April 23, 2021, and submissions should be sent to dm228422@my.stchas.edu. Simultaneous submissions are not allowed and I’m asking for First Time rights. I look forward to seeing what comes my way and I hope you enjoy taking part in this project to share a bit of magic with readers.

Submission Call: Love Poetry

Submission Fee: None

Submission Deadline: April 19, 2021

Submission Guidelines:

  • 1,000 Max word count
  • Double spaced
  • .doc format
  • Century Font
  • Font size 12
  • Previously unpublished
  • Simultaneous Submission allowed

What we are looking for: Love expressed through poetry. Not just the romantic stuff. Express your love for a person, place, or thing in a poetic form. Allow us inside your heart and soul. Grant us access inside your most sacred space. Nothings off limit (from sentiment to sexual). We want to hear about what it is that you love, poetically.

The selected submission will receive: a printed copy of the publication.

Contact: cp274194@my.stchas.edu

Call for Submission: Underrepresentation and Minorities

Deadline: April 22nd, 2021

Theme: We’d like to hear underrepresented and minority voices, whether that has to do with ethnicity, gender, or sexuality. We prefer more LGBTQ+ stories more than anything. Please be vulnerable. Since you are an underrepresented voice, don’t feel the need to write about struggling in the world.

Guidelines:

  • Fiction and poetry only
  • 10 page maximum, 1 page minimum for fiction
  • 2 page maximum for poetry
  • Libre Baskerville font, double spaced, 11 sized font, pages numbered with last name at the top of the page, 1” margins
  • Must be submitted as .doc or .docx
  • Simultaneous Submissions allowed
  • Multiple Submissions allowed
  • Reprints allowed
  • Please do not send in any artwork

Rights: One-time Rights

For Your Contribution: You will get a copy of the published book if your work is accepted

Contact: sr253111@my.stchas.edu

Feel free to ask questions. We’re excited to work with you.

CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS: Supercoach

Supercoach is an anthology celebrating the impact a good running coach can have on their students.  We are looking for poetry (any form but must be less than one page in length) and superhero pop art illustrations that celebrate running, coaching, and the following quotes:

  • If it doesn’t challenge you, it won’t change you.
  • Set Goals. Eat healthfully. Food is fuel.
  • Put your big rocks in first.
  • Tough runs don’t last; tough runners do.
  • Trust yourself, believe in yourself, have pride in how far you’ve come, and have faith in how far you can go.
  • Never be defeated by defeat.
  • Without struggle, there is no progress.
  • Pressure is a privilege.
  • Doubt kills more dreams than failure ever will.
  • Whether you think you can or think you can’t, you’re right.

A few more tips about submitting your work to Supercoach

  1. The deadline for submissions to Supercoach is April 25, 2021.
  2. Poetry (one page or less) should be submitted in a .doc format.
  3. Superhero pop art (one page or less) should be submitted as a .png format. (Please note that artwork may be converted to grayscale to save on printing costs.)
  4. Please submit only previously unpublished poetry or artwork. We ask for First North American Serial rights, and all copyright remains with the author/artist.
  5. We do not accept simultaneous submissions. All acceptance notifications will be emailed by May 10, 2021.
  6. The writers selected for inclusion in Supercoach will receive one printed edition of the anthology. There is no financial remuneration.
  7. The only way to submit your stories or poems to us is via email at ls242827@my.stchas.edu.

Please note that Supercoach is not interested in writing or illustrations you would feel uncomfortable sharing with a favorite high school teacher.

Call for Submissions: The Creative Mind

Being able to put your creative mind to use is one of the best feelings you can have. Being able to tell your story, your life story and sharing what all you have been through in your life. It’s wonderful. It’s a way to express how you felt and how you currently feel. It’s a way to let others know and to show others they’re not alone in this world that everything will be okay.

Submission Call: Nonfiction stories

Word Count: 1,000-5,000 words

Submissions Fee: There is no fee

Payment Rights: Contributor’s copy, first or one-time rights

Deadline: April 25th

Font Size: 12 size Times New Roman for story and 18 size font for title of your story, double-spaced

For your contribution: You will get a copy of the published book if we choose and accept your work.

Contact: ay254921@my.stchas.edu

Flash Fiction Contest Results

Thanks to everyone who entered our 2020 Fabulist and Fantastic Flash Fiction Contest! We’re excited to announce this year’s winners and honorable mentions:

Winner: Anastasia Kirchoff for “Bite”

Runner-Up: James Harris for “Kylie”

Honorable Mentions: Nathan Long for “The Woman Who Flew”
Sam Asher for “Corpse Feathers”

We’re hard at work on the newest issue and are thrilled to features these pieces!

Wrapping Up Summer Issue–Plus: Big News!

We’re still wrapping up production on the Summer 2020 issue of The Gateway Review, but in the meantime, we have some big news!

The Gateway Review is undergoing a bit of a shift in mid-2020.  Previously a biannual print magazine, we’ll be moving to an annual print journal, with submissions accepted July 15 through September 15 of each year.

Why?  Well, the magazine is expanding to become Gateway Literary Press.  When we’re not putting together the journal, we’ll be reading manuscripts for publication of full-length short story collections, starting in November 2020–so if you’ve got a collection you’re looking to get published, get it in your queue to send our way later this year!  More information will be forthcoming soon!